Newsletter of the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona

Library Staff Excellence Award Winners

MLGSCA is pleased to issue the 2023 Library Staff Excellence Award to two dedicated employees of health science libraries in the region. This year’s recipients are Cynthia Heltne of the Mayo Clinic and Mike Bates of the University of Arizona. Cynthia has worked for over 18 years at Mayo where she has demonstrated a consistent […]

Report on MLA/SLA 2023: Connecting with Librarians, Learning Best Practices

by Deborah Farber, MLIS, AHIP (Provisional), 2023 Professional Development Award recipient I attended MLA/SLA in Detroit with a couple of goals in mind: connect with other health sciences librarians and learn best practices to implement in research instructional sessions offered to students at the California University of Science and Medicine (CUSM). In two and a […]

Accepting Applications for Professional Development Award

The Awards Committee of the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona (MLGSCA) is now accepting applications for its spring professional development award. Awards range from $100 – $500.More than one award may be granted in a year. The Awards Committee screens applications and recommends candidate(s) to the Advisory Council of MLGSCA which has […]

MLGSCA 2023 Student Scholarship Recipient – Mark Rojas

Mark Rojas has been selected as this year’s recipient of the MLGSCA student scholarship. Each year, the chapter awards $1500 to an excellent library/information science student who has shown evidence of interest in pursuing a career in health sciences librarianship. Mark is enrolled in the MLIS program at San Jose State University and is currently […]

Nominations are now open for the Louise Darling Award

Purpose of Award The purpose of the Louise Darling MLGSCA Achievement Award is to honor significant contributions to health sciences librarianship, as well as to the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona. Criteria for Award Candidate’s contribution is significant towards the advancement of health sciences librarianship through the endeavors of the Medical Library […]

Professional Development Award Recipient

Carrie Grinstead of Providence Health in Burbank, CA is this year’s recipient of the MLGSCA Professional Development Award. Carrie plans to use the funds provided by the award to attend the Western Institute of Nursing (WIN) conference in Tucson in 2023. She plans to present as part of a symposium called “Creating Infrastructure to Support […]

AHIP First Time Applicant Award recipient

Karina Kletscher of Creighton University’s health sciences campus in Phoenix is the recipient of this year’s AHIP First-Time Applicant Award. Karina is an early career librarian who has been serving as Creighton’s reference and instruction librarian in Phoenix since 2021. She holds a master’s degree in Library and Information Science from the University of Maryland […]

AHIP First-Time Applicant Award

Applications for the AHIP First-time Applicant Award are being accepted through September 30, 2022. This award is provided to encourage members of MLGSCA to apply for membership in the Academy of Health Information Professionals (AHIP). Award: Participant will be reimbursed for the AHIP application fee ($200 Academy Member level or above, or $135 Provisional member […]

MLGSCA Library Staff Excellence Award deadline Extended

MLGSCA is now accepting applications for the MLGSCA Staff Excellence Award. The deadline has been extended to September 30, 2022. The purpose of the MLGSCA Library Staff Excellence Award is to honor an outstanding library staff in a health sciences library and to recognize the critical role and important contributions library staff make to the development and […]

NOW Accepting Applications for the MLGSCA Professional Development Award

The MLGSCA Awards Committee is accepting applications for awards up to $500 to support professional development activities including attendance at classes, conferences and meetings. The MLGSCA Professional Development Award is intended to provide MLGSCA members with the opportunity to increase their competence in the theoretical, administrative and/or technical aspects of librarianship. Get your applications in, […]

NNLM Region 5 MLA Virtual Conference Registration Award

The Network of the National Library of Medicine Region 5 (NNLM Region 5), under cooperative agreement with the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), is excited to announce a new award designed to support Region 5 members’ attendance at the virtual MLA Annual Meeting. Organizations in Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, U.S. Territories and […]

Jillian Underwood-Jenkins receives MLGSCA scholarship

Jillian Underwood-Jenkins is this year’s recipient of the MLGSCA scholarship. She is currently in the MLIS program at San Jose State University while working for the City of Oceanside in the City Clerk’s office as an information liaison between the public and the city. She is also a participant in a virtual internship with Judy […]

keep looking »
  • Recent Comments

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta