Newsletter of the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona

Hospital Librarian Award nominations

We want to recognize an exceptional, dynamic hospital librarian!  Is that one of your colleagues, or is it you?  Take a few minutes to recognize the person you feel is a visionary hospital librarian, and be sure to consider yourself for the Lois Ann Colaianni Award for Excellence and Achievement in Hospital Librarianship. Self-nominations are […]

HLS/MLA Professional Development Grants

The purpose of the HLS/MLA Professional Development Grant is to provide librarians working in hospitals and similar clinical settings with the support needed for educational or research activities, which includes developing and acquiring the knowledge and skills delineated in Competencies for Lifelong Learning and Professional Success:The Educational Policy Statement of the Medical Library Association and […]

Now accepting applications for MLA scholarship

A scholarship of up to $5,000 will be granted to a student entering an American Library Association-accredited library school or a student with at least one-half of the requirements of the program remaining to complete in the year following the granting of the scholarship. The applications are due to MLA by December 1, 2014. The […]

MLA Research, Development, and Demonstration Project Grants

Practicing health sciences librarians are encouraged to apply for the MLA Research, Development or Demonstration Project Grants.  Through grants ranging from $100.00 to $1,000.00, the Medical Library Association (MLA) aims to support projects that promote excellence in the field of health sciences librarianship and information sciences.  Grants will not be given to support an activity […]

Janet Doe Lectureship nominations

The Janet Doe Lectureship Jury invites nominations for the 2016 Janet Doe Lectureship.  One of the most prestigious awards given by the Medical Library Association, the lectureship recognizes an outstanding MLA member who has contributed to the Association in ways that reflect the vision and values of Janet Doe, and offers a unique perspective on either […]

Murray Gottlieb Prize: Submit Now

The Murray Gottlieb Prize is awarded annually by the Medical Library Association for the best unpublished scholarly paper about a topic in the history of the health sciences. The purpose of the prize is to recognize and stimulate interest in the history of the health sciences.  The author of the winning essay receives complimentary registration […]

AAAS Meeting Sponsorship

The American Association for the Advancement of Science publications division is again sponsoring registration (full-funding of the registration fee) for 30 librarians. This is a great opportunity to hear from science researchers, administrators, journalists and writers, and to be immersed in a scientific conference of the highest quality. The conference will take place in San […]

Nominations for Louise Darling Medal

Please consider nominating a colleague for the Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences! The Louise Darling Medal is presented annually to recognize distinguished achievement in collection development in the health sciences. The award was established in 1987 and first awarded in 1988, with a contribution by Ballen Booksellers […]

Ida and George Eliot Prize nominations open

Help recognize MLA’s talented writer(s)! Take a moment and nominate a colleague (or yourself!) for the Ida and George Eliot Prize. Presented annually, the Ida and George Eliot Prize is given for a work published in the preceding calendar year that has been judged most effective in furthering medical librarianship. The recipient receives a certificate […]

Ysabel Bertolucci MLA meeting grant

The Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant recognizes Ysabel’s exemplary career as a member of MLA. The grant recognizes a health sciences librarian who is involved in nursing, allied health, consumer health or international librarianship. The recipient receives a certificate at the MLA annual meeting and a stipend of up to $1000 to be used for travel […]

Sewell stipend to attend APHA

Librarians with an interest in public health, make this the year you attend the American Public Health Association Annual Meeting.  Stipends funded by The Grace and Harold Sewell Memorial Fund for this purpose will be awarded to at least 10 librarians in 2014.  This year’s APHA meeting will take place in New Orleans, LA from […]

MLA Chapter Project of the Year Award

From left to right: Robert Johnson, Mary White, Danielle Linden, and Nita Mailander.

« go backkeep looking »
  • Scan this barcode to get the Link on your phone

  • Recent Comments

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta