Newsletter of the Medical Library Group of Southern California and Arizona

Nominations open for Ida and George Eliot Prize

Help recognize MLA’s talented writer(s)! Take a moment and nominate a colleague (or yourself!) for the Ida and George Eliot Prize. Presented annually, the Ida and George Eliot Prize is given for a work published in the preceding calendar year that has been judged most effective in furthering medical librarianship. Last year winner: “Effects of […]

Apply now for the Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant!

The Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant recognizes Ysabel Bertolucci’s exemplary career as a members of the Medical Library Association and her many contributions to its Sections, Chapters and Board. Endowed in 2014, the Bertolucci Grant recognizes a health sciences librarian who is involved in nursing, allied health, consumer health or international librarianship. The recipient […]

Apply now for MLGSCA Professional Development Award!

Purpose: To support professional development activities including attendance at classes, conferences and meetings; To provide MLGSCA members with the opportunity to increase their competence in the theoretical, administrative and/or technical aspects of librarianship. Eligibity: The applicant must: Be a regular member of MLGSCA; Hold a graduate degree in library/information science; Be a practicing medical librarian […]

My Experience at MLA Austin

This year the MLGSCA professional scholarship award gave me the chance to experience firsthand the conference that is dedicated specifically for librarians in the Medical profession. I had heard many interesting stories and adventures from my mentor, Lisa Marks, and now I could fully take it in. While not a new comer to Library conferences, […]

Nominate a colleague for the MLGSCA Paraprofessional of the Year Award!

Do you know a paraprofessional who deserves to be recognized for the great work she or he does in a medical library? Nominate her or him for the MLGSCA Paraprofessional of the Year Award by July 1! Purpose The purpose of the Outstanding Health Sciences Library Paraprofessional of the Year Award is to honor an […]

Winner of the Majors/MLA Chapter Project of the Year

It is with esteemed privilege that we announce that MLGSCA has received the 2015 Majors/MLA Chapter Project of the Year award for the second year in a row!  In November 13-15, 2013, our chapter participated in an outreach project to promote information on the Affordable Care Act to public and community college librarians attending the […]

Report from the Quint Chapter Meeting

This year’s Joint Meeting was a great success. It had excellent speakers and programs. Dr. Claire Pomeroy was the first plenary speaker and spoke about how to create a healthier world by addressing the social determinants of health. She said that we have a value problem in health, that there is a disconnect between cost […]

A “Quint*Essential” Experience!!

Denver, Colorado was the site of the first Quint*Essential Meeting in October 2014. An MLGSCA Professional Development Award afforded me the opportunity to participate in this collaborative convergence of five MLA chapters. My interest in attending was two-fold: I served on the Planning Committee as Co-Chair of the Evaluation Committee, and was also a poster […]

NAHRS Award nominations

The Honors Committee of the Nursing and Allied Health Resources Section (NAHRS) seeks nominations for the NAHRS Award for Professional Excellence. This award recognizes a NAHRS member who exhibits outstanding leadership and exceptional librarianship in meeting the information needs of nursing and allied health professionals.  The nomination may be made for service and contributions to the information needs of nursing and […]

Nancy Olmos wins MLGSCA Paraprofessional of the Year Award

Nancy has worked for the Wilson Dental Library (WDL) at the University of Southern California for 7 years as a Technical Services Assistant.  Nancy continually goes above and beyond her daily work to improve the service and quality of the library.  Customer service is key in any library however; Nancy has taken it to the […]

Nominations due for Janet Doe Lectureship

The Janet Doe Lectureship Jury invites nominations for the 2016 Janet Doe Lectureship.  One of the most prestigious awards given by the Medical Library Association, the lectureship recognizes an outstanding MLA member who has contributed to the Association in ways that reflect the vision and values of Janet Doe, and offers a unique perspective on […]

Nominations for Governmental Relations Award

The Medical Library Association is seeking nominations for the annual Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award.  This award recognizes a librarian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in governmental relations at the federal, state, or local level.  The nominee must have been a member of MLA at the time the governmental relations activities occurred.  The awardee […]

« go backkeep looking »
  • Scan this barcode to get the Link on your phone

  • Recent Comments

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Meta